Home      Administration
MSHSL Recognition Programs:    Hall of Fame    Spotlight on Scholarships    ExCEL Award    Triple "A" Awards        


ExCEL – Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership – is a unique recognition program designed exclusively for Minnesota high school juniors who are active in school activities, who show leadership qualities, and who work voluntarily in their community.

Every member school of the League is invited to nominate one girl and one boy for the ExCEL Award. Nominees must:
a. be a junior in high school
b. make satisfactory progress toward graduation
c. participate in a MSHSL fine arts and/or athletic activity
d. hold a leadership position(s) in their school
e. work voluntarily in their community

The ExCEL nomination form is posted on this website and will be accepted through December 14, 2018. The ExCEL Award recipients will be selected by an independent panel of judges from schools throughout Minnesota. Each recipient will be recognized on KSTCTV (Channel 45) during the broadcasts of the 2019 winter tournaments.

This is the 23rd year that the Minnesota State High School League has sponsored the ExCEL Award. Wells Fargo is the program’s new sponsor. We’re counting on YOU to help us to recognize student leaders in your school who are making a difference. Please take the time to complete the nomination form posted on this website. Award winners will be announced via the League website on February 4, 2019.

Please contact the Minnesota State High School League at 763-560-2262, if you have additional questions.

Please Note:

General Public: If you know a student that qualifies for this award, please contact the student's school administration.

School Personnel: To access the nomination form and program support materials, click on the "Administration" tab and enter your school's password.

Nomination Form (Word) / (PDF)
2019 Award Winners Announced

Anna Braun, Jordan Annica Carr, Elk River
Jordan Case, Orono Elizabeth Christian, Tri-City United
Carson Dock, Waconia Drew Elvehjem, Mora
Sophie Epps, Cannon Falls Camryn Franke, Washington Tech
Hailey Handevidt, JCC Carter Hansen, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
Matthew Harfmann, Kasson-Mantorville Samuel Hauser, Eagan
Kristin Haveri, Two Harbors Addison Hawkins, Mora
Dylan Heggedal, Greenbush-MR Gabriella Helget, Sleepy Eye-SM
Trevor Hendrix, Robbinsdale Cooper Dakota John, Adrian
Jared Josephson, Minneota Lauren Karnitz, Redwood Valley
Kerryn Lund, Brandon-Evansville John Luu Mathiowetz, Sleepy Eye-SM
Sanjana Molleti, Eastview, Apple Valley Kathleen Nordstrom, Annandale
Gigi Otten, Albert Lea Jarod Pavek, Waterville-E-M
Graham Pearson, Cannon Falls Nathan Popp, Royalton
Faith Robinson, Minnetonka Peyton Rohloff, Hancock
Stuart Scamehorn, St. Anthony Village Scout Strickland, Staples-Motley
Ysanat Tway, St. Paul Humboldt Leah Vraspir, Watertown-Mayer
Kennedi Wright, Wheaton Brandon Young, Upsala Area


Copyright 1994-2020 Minnesota State High School League
2100 Freeway Boulevard Brooklyn Center, MN 55430-1735    |    (763) 560-2262     |     FAX (763) 569-0499