Home      Administration

Posted by Guest (jmillea@mshsl.org) - Updated 11/17/2012 5:34:35 PM

By Luke Sleeper
John’s Journal Correspondent

A consistent Northfield squad won the Class 1A girls swimming and diving state championship Saturday. The Raiders tallied 223 points in the meet, almost 50 points more than runner-up Sartell-Saint Stephen.

Northfield took home two gold medals in its championship effort – Bailey Dupay’s first-place finish in 1-meter diving and the 200-yard freestyle relay team of senior Claire Walters, sophomore Grete Baker, junior Emily Lundstrom and senior Emily Anderson. The Raiders also collected a bronze medal in the 400-yard freestyle relay and a silver medal by Walters in the 200-yard freestyle.

The other big story Saturday were record-breaking performances by a couple of swimmers from Mankato and Albert Lea. Danielle Nack, a junior from Mankato West, broke a Class 1A record in the 50-yard freestyle, then broke the Minnesota all-time record in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 52.41.

Nack, along with her sister Chantal, Nicole Lohman and Madison Bacon, finished off the meet with a victory in the 400-yard freestyle relay, en route to a fourth-place overall finish for Mankato West. Chantal Nack also won gold in the 200-yard freestyle.

Albert Lea’s Lindsey Horejsi made some Minnesota swimming history, as well. The freshman set a state record in the 100-yard breaststroke in the preliminaries Friday, only to break her own record in Saturday’s final with a time of 1.00:16.

Sartell-Saint Stephen senior Ellen Bloom took home gold medals in the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard backstroke, helping the defending champions to their second-place finish with 175 points. The third-place team was Visitation with 172 points.

Visitation’s 200-yard medley relay team of Caroline Gaertner, Heather Farley, Emily Kishish and Bailey Brown won the opening event of the meet. Solveig Viren, a junior from Grand Rapids, won the 100-yard freestyle and Chisago Lakes junior Thomasin Lee took first in the grueling 500-yard freestyle.


After team awards were announced in which Minnetonka was awarded the team championship, meet officials discovered that several rules were violated involving relay team entries by the Minnetonka coaches. The violations led to Minnetonka’s disqualification in all three relays in the meet. The disqualifications changed the scoring and dropped Minnetonka to fourth place. The top three teams were Edina, Wayzata and Eden Prairie.


Copyright 1994-2020 Minnesota State High School League
2100 Freeway Boulevard Brooklyn Center, MN 55430-1735    |    (763) 560-2262     |     FAX (763) 569-0499